Monday FUNDAY… Or not-so-funday

I forgot to talk about little joys in life on my last post…

Little Joys in Life: Good smelling hair products! And repeatedly smelling your hair as a consequence for the rest of the day…. lololol

Going to the gym and running after a huge FRIED dinner was the worst idea ever. I started cramping up in the first minute when I was on the treadmill because I could tell that all the junk I ate was just jostling around in my stomach so I turned into a punk and walked the rest of the time. Barely broke a sweat. But I am telling myself… at least I went to the gym. Right? Right… Or not. And being at the gym at like 10:00 pm is really depressing. I don’t like it; I’m not doing that again. I will sit on my couch and watch The Voice or Castle next time. Much happier.

Anyhow, I got my hair cut this past weekend! It’s like a layered shoulder length bob with side-swept bangs. My hairdresser also colored it like a very faint brown color but it kinda looks auburn and/or orangey in different lighting. It’s kinda confusing but it looks natural and I like it. It’s definitely quite a drastic change… Very different. I got a whole bunch of compliments at work today and people were telling me I look sophisticated. YAY! But I can definitely see why they said that because I thought I looked kind of savage before hahahahaha. I started feeling like a mermaid after a while with my long hair and it kept snagging on my bags, jackets, and scarves. And whenever I think of mermaid hair, I think of seaweed. No girl wants their hair to look like seaweed.

The reason I didn’t cut it before was because 1) I was too busy and kept forgetting to call and schedule an appointment and 2) I had recently gotten a perm in TW in Oct and 3) I really wanted to grow my hair out. However, it’s been more than a year with long hair. REALLY LONG HAIR. It was legit down to my lower back. Time for a change! I made the decision to cut it short but I forgot to mention it to my hairdresser (all I said was that I wanted it cut) so they (hairdresser and assistants) assumed it was just a trim and were getting ready to dye my hair first. I guess people with long hair usually get really attached to their long hair and only want a trim? The conversation went like this:

Me: (watching them prepare the dye) Don’t we need to cut my hair first?

Assistants: No, your hairdresser is going to dye it first and then trim it later.

Me: (confused) But… I want to get a lot of it cut.

Assistants: (all collectively pause) Wait, how much do you want cut?

Me: (realizing that I never specified the cut) Like half.

Assistants: (shocked) Half?!

(all clamoring over my hair and one lady grabs a fistful)

Assistant Lady: (still kind of in shock) Omg, you have so much hair….

Me: Ha… Yes… Lots of hair.

Assistant Lady: Ok, we’re definitely cutting it first then and then your hairdresser will do the final trim later.

And then after asking what length I wanted, one of the hairdressers that was helping literally grabbed my hair in her first, formed it into a ponytail, and sheared half of it off with her scissors. Ha! I’ve always wanted to do that… Afterwards when I got home, I told Wendy that I should’ve just let her do that at home before I went to get my hair done at the salon. Drat! Missed opportunity for fun. Haven’t you always wanted to do that? It totally reminds me of a prank some schoolboy or schoolgirl would play. Did that happen in the Little House on a Prairie series? For some reason, it rings a bell.

I still have the blowout from the salon so my hair looks good but I’m wary about what it will look like tomorrow. I think I still have the remnants of my previous perm so it will be all discombobulated. Argh! Maintenance! How will I restore this hair to its glory of today? I want to get one of those brush blow dryer things (like two in one) so it will be easy to maintain. You girls know that I’m NOT going to wake up every day and use a boar thistled brush and a blow dryer and have any semblance of hair drying coordination. Not going to happen. I just recently graduated to using mascara so slow down, horseys! Anyhow, Irene gave me a recommendation for a Panasonic hair styler and I really want to try it but I’m struggling to find the exact Panasonic one on Amazon or any other site in the US. During my research, I also saw something from John Freida (Hot Air Brush).

http://www.panasonic.ae/EN/Pages/EHKA11.aspx

Image

http://www.amazon.com/John-Frieda-JFHA5-Brush-inch/dp/B0056GDG90/ref=pd_sim_bt_2

Image

What do you guys think? Any other recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Monday FUNDAY… Or not-so-funday

  1. 1) i bought a kerastase curl product when i got back for my perm and it smells SO GOOD. too bad it was uber expensive -_-
    2) did you watch the voice last night? i’m sad the little adopted asian girl didn’t make it. she was cute. and the girl at the end, doesn’t she look like sandra oh with a fro?
    3) i can’t remember the last time you had short time. years ago when you came to visit me and you had just gotten back from taiwan. your hair was short and dyed and very fobby ^_^
    4) i honestly don’t think those dryers with the brush attached works as well. once you get the hang of using a barrel brush, it’s quite easy!

    • 1) Ooooh Kerastase is always expensivo but I’m sure it’s super nice! There was this other hair product at the salon that smelled divine and I really wanted it but they were testing it out and didn’t have inventory 😦
      2) Yes, I watched a little while I was on the treadmill but I watched it without sound except for the last girl! The asian girl seemed heartbroken 😦 But she looked cute. And that last girl… Amazing and yes I agree she looked like Sandra Oh with a fro! Bahahahaha
      3) That was my sophomore year! I think! Bahaha I remember… I came back very fobbified.
      4) Really? I blow dried my hair this morning with my normal brush and a blow dryer. It did not work very well… but at least I didn’t look like a poodle afterwards. I just want something easyyyyyyy

Leave a comment