Summer and Electric Run in Philly

Current Listening to Boys ‘Round Here by Blake Shelton

Why, hello! I am finding myself with the sudden urge to blog and I think it’s marvelous. I was just thinking about how my memory is so shoddy that I can barely remember what I did a week ago.

The girls and I signed up for the Electric Run in Philly this past weekend and we stayed at the Westin. It was a grand ol’ time except for the fact that the Electric Run got cancelled this weekend due to thunderstorms and lightning. It was unbelievable… We had gotten all worked up for this run and we were about 20 yards or less from the start line since they were releasing waves of runners/walkers/joggers every 5 minutes when they announced that the race was cancelled. We ran back to our car so at least we got like a mile in… LOL then afterwards, we goofed off in the hotel room with Instagram, our glow in the dark gear from the run and our glow in the dark dance moves unrivaled by any master. Bwahahaha

I was so exhausted today though… Got home, ate the whole world a cookie at a time and napped on the couch for 2 hours. I cleaned the apartment, did my laundry (the washing machine ate my $1.75 without washing my clothes. So pissed!) and cooked dinner around 10 pm. Naps always screw over my hours.

I miss reading. I find this article quite interesting: http://www.cnn.com/2013/07/21/opinion/greene-rowling-author/index.html?hpt=hp_bn7

Last week was insane. We had an upgrade to a system at work so I was working pretty bad hours and wasn’t sleeping well, but the implementation went well last Saturday and I got 2 comp days out of it! Let’s recap this summer so far (or at least what I remember):

  • Visited Neeners with Jchau in mid-May and saw Star Trek II and fun BBQ!
  • Family visited me Memorial Day Weekend
  • Went camping with Jess and company to Shenandoah the first week of June. So much fun but I took a 2 hour shower when I got back home
  • Went to Boston with Sarah and saw Boston Pops in concert conducted by John Williams in the beginning of June and then went to Ventnor Beach
  • Did Habitat for Humanity the second week of June and it was fun! Knocked down drywall, learned how to use a recip saw and other things
  • Went to NKOTB concert with 98 degrees and Boyz II Men with Jess. SO AWESOME.
  • Celebrated my birthday with my lovelies in Ocean City and being gifted with alcohol and Birchboxes! YES
  • Went BYOB tubing with Jchau and company through Livingsocial at Harper’s Ferry. It was fantastic… I bashed up my leg though and it got badly infected due to the water scum :-T
  • Signed up for Barre3 classes with Jchau and went twice!
  • Saw summer movies like Ironman3, Star Trek II (twice!), Man of Steel, Pacific Rim… So excited for the rest.
  • Went blackberry and peach picking at Homestead Farm with Jchau and Wai. We were sweaty messes but the pay-off with the blackberries is so worth it. I have battle wounds all over my arms, hands and legs where the thorns scratched me though, but the blackberries were so plump and succulent.
  • Went to Philly with my girls for the Electric Run! Hopefully they will set a rain date so we can prove that we can run 3 miles! 🙂
  • So many more great moments this summer like meals with friends, learning how to cook, finishing Sherlock Season 1 and 2, getting fit and tan, and running along the waterfront and on trails. Looking forward to the rest of summer! Backstreet Boys, here we come!

One thought on “Summer and Electric Run in Philly

Leave a comment